“Your faith has made you well”

Yesterday we looked at Scripture that revealed how healing was sometimes dependent upon the faith of another.  At the same time there are also instances in Scripture that reveal how personal faith sometimes draws the healing touch of Jesus.

Consider the personal faith of the woman who had had a hemorrhage for twelve years as recorded in Mark 5:25-34 …

A woman who had had a hemorrhage for twelve years, and had endured much at the hands of many physicians, and had spent all that she had and was not helped at all, but rather had grown worse–after hearing about Jesus, she came up in the crowd behind Him and touched His cloak. For she thought, “If I just touch His garments, I will get well.” Immediately the flow of her blood was dried up; and she felt in her body that she was healed of her affliction.

Take a moment and reread that account and truly wrap your hands around this woman’s circumstances:

  • She had had a hemorrhage for 12 years
  • She had endured much at the hand of many physicians
  • She had spent all she had
  • Nothing the doctors had done had helped at all
  • In fact, her condition had grown worse

So what would your sense of hope be at this point?  Would you be able to stir up a faith the size of a mustard seed?

I think my hope level would be at rock bottom and I wouldn’t even know what faith was anymore …

From this account to this point, it seems like for 12 years, she had put all her trust, faith and hope in here physicians with nothing to show for it … with virtually no glimpse of Almighty God and the hope He offers.

And then she heard about Jesus …

She thought, ‘If only I can touch His cloak, I will be well.’ WOW!!!

Now for the rest of the story …

Immediately Jesus, perceiving in Himself that the power proceeding from Him had gone forth, turned around in the crowd and said, “Who touched My garments?” And His disciples said to Him, “You see the crowd pressing in on You, and You say, ‘Who touched Me?'” And He looked around to see the woman who had done this. But the woman fearing and trembling, aware of what had happened to her, came and fell down before Him and told Him the whole truth. And He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace and be healed of your affliction.”

Daughter … such an enduring moniker of affection used by Jesus … “I am a child of God in the family of God.” How that must have touched the heart of this woman!

“Your faith has made you well; go in peace and be healed of your affliction.”  No sweeter words could have possibly touched the ears of this woman over the previous twelve years …

Thank you Lord for all that Scripture reveals about You, Your love and Your ways!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

