upon the faith of another

Have you ever stopped to consider the fact that your healing might be more dependent upon the faith of another than it is on your own personal faith?

Four examples from Scripture …

Consider the faith of the centurion as recounted in Matthew 8:5-13.  On behalf of one of his servants, a Roman centurion met with Jesus asking that his servant might be healed.  As a result of his great faith, Jesus healed the servant in that very moment.

How would you like your healing to be dependent on the faith of your boss?

Or how about the account in Luke 7:1-10 which is very similar to the one above yet has distinct differences.  In this account, the Roman centurion did not see himself worthy of having Jesus come into his home, so he sent Jewish elders to Jesus to make his request for the healing of his servant.  As a result of his great faith, Jesus healed this centurion’s servant as well.

How would you like your healing to be dependent on the faith of a team of church elders and your boss?

My next example is from Mark 2:1-12.  You know the story … the four friends carry their paralytic friend to see Jesus and be healed yet there is no room in the house and no way in … or so it seems.  Until the four friends decide to raise the roof … from the outside and then lower their friend down to Jesus … while Scripture does not speak of their faith in this matter, it would seem to me that their actions demanded a great deal of faith and an expectant belief.  As you know, Jesus forgave the paralytic of his sins and then healed his physical body.

How would you like your healing to be dependent on the faith of your friends and their ability to work through obstacles on your behalf?

My final example is the account of Jairus and his daughter as recorded in Mark 5:21-24,35-43.  As you may recall, Jairus was a leader of the local synagogue whose daughter is dying.  He ask Jesus to come to his house and lay his hands upon her and heal her.  Yet before they reach his home, the daughter dies … even so Jesus said, ‘Do not fear, only believe.’ And at His command, the girl arises.

How would you like your healing to dependent on the faith of a family member when your situation is seemingly beyond all hope?

Don’t misunderstand this post … I am not suggesting … nor personally intending … to place a lower value on one’s personal faith regarding one’s own healing.  But it is probably safe to say that Lone Ranger faith, in many instances, is an incomplete faith …

Paul taught the following …

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2 (ESV)

And Jesus taught …

Again I say to you, if two of you agree on earth about anything they ask, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. Matthew 18:19 (ESV)

It would seem to me that the faith of the individual, while extremely critical, pales in comparison to the power of the faith of the united body of Christ.  And prayer can be and often is a mighty testimony to such a faith.

Answering the questions above … my bosses, both past and present, are indeed praying for me; a number of church elders locally and nationwide are praying for me, many friends are praying for me and many family members are praying for me.  So I fully realize and am extremely thankful that my healing is dependent upon the faith of others.

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to upon the faith of another

  1. Judy Chapman says:

    Bernie, pls add my name to those praying for you and your family. What hospital were you at for your surgery? If there is anything I can do, pls let me know. Your faith is comforting for all.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Judy … It is so great to hear from you. Thanks so much for your prayers for my family, my wife and myself. There are times, that much like the poem ‘Footprints’ we sense ourselves being carried along by the prayers of you and others. I have added you to the e-mail I send out every week or so – this will provide you the latest updates and hopefully give you a sense of the praises and thanksgiving we have experienced recently as well as prayer needs for our next steps in the journey. I was at NGMC in Gainesville … a super hospital with incredible caring staff. For now friends and family have most things covered, but we do appreciate your offer and will keep it in mind.

      My faith, your faith, our faith is one authored and perfected by Christ Jesus and for Him, His work and the gift of faith I am forever grateful. I am sustained IN Christ Jesus and His incredibly amazing love!

      Thanks for your encouraging words Judy.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His mighty love for you!

      Bernie

  2. Paul Dawn says:

    Bernie, you said “So I fully realize and am extremely thankful that my healing is dependent upon the faith of others.”

    Indeed, that is spot on. Again, I appreciate the thoughts share here. So many family, friends, those at church, those online and offline, covered me with their prayers, their faith, strengthen my faith.

    Again, I am thankful for that which you share and write from the heart, for the gift of writing that He has given you, for the seeds that you plant in others, that the spirit waters and help others to grown even more in faith!

    Be blessed in our Lord Jesus Christ,

    Paul
    The Mayor 🙂

    • bwebbjr says:

      Good morning Paul,

      (Before I forget, I keep trying to get over to your wordpress blog but it tells me there is a malware issue. Hopefully you are aware of it.)

      I so appreciate the fact that in your comments you affirm that what I am experiencing now, you also experienced as you went through your surgeries. I personally am so encouraged when someone tells me they are praying for me, my wife and my family. And in God’s response to those prayers, I feel lifted up. And that is so critical at this stage of the journey.

      Thanks for your encouraging words about the blog and my writing Mayor!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

