Say farewell to ‘eau de hospital-le’ fragrance

In the last four years, I have endured three week-long hospital stays.  And when I came home from the hospital each time, it was like I had been soaked in the fragrance ‘eau de hospital-le’ for a week and in each case it usually took a week or more to get it out of my system.

Have you ever gotten that ‘eau de hospital-le’ fragrance stuck in your nostrils after an extended hospital stay?

So when I get home I brush my teeth more, I wash my face more, I shower and scrub myself down more … but I just couldn’t get that memorial aroma to go away.

Finally … about 10 days after this last hospital stay I noticed the fragrance was gone … thank you Lord!

“Farewell to ‘eau de hospital-le’!”

Have you ever figured out what causes this lasting reminder of your most recent hospital stay?

First, I thought it might be that antibacterial soap that every nurse, technician and doctor puts on their hands before and after they come into your room.  But I’ve ruled that out … I never used it … and quite frankly there just isn’t that much contact with the soap.

Second, maybe it’s those latex gloves they use so often to protect themselves from your blood and other contaminants … but once again I really don’t have that much contact with the gloves either.

Third, perhaps it’s the little oxygen tube they put in your nose.  Your nostrils are the gateway to all you smell so that might actually make a lot of sense.  But then that is one of the first tubes they detach, why would the odor last 7 – 10 days?

Fourth, maybe it’s the laundry detergent and/or fabric softener they use on the sheets, blankets, towels and nightgowns … now that could be a pretty good guess.  But that’s not my choice …

Other choices you may have considered in your investigation?

Here is my conclusion: It’s the fluids in the IV bags.  If it was simply some topical contact, it would be washed away in a day or two.  But since it is in the fluid that has intravenously been fed into your body for a week I would imagine it would take a week of so for it to work out of your body in sweat, etc.  That’s my guess … and for now I’m sticking to it!

Any medical professionals out there who can either confirm my conclusion or offer the definitive answer?

Now I know this may seem like a frivolous post to most of you … which might suggest to me you haven’t had the pleasure yet of enduring week long hospital stays tied down to an IV pole.

Tomorrow we return to more weightier matters of the battle.

May you and yours be blessed by God Almighty this Labor Day weekend!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

