A timely read … ‘Trusting God’ by Jerry Bridges

In the weeks and months preceding my follow-up colonoscopy and the resulting surgery, I would be less than honest if I said I did not expect some complications.  To what end, I had absolutely no idea and would never have envisioned the current circumstances (living with a colostomy bag and battling cancer).

No doubt, without equal, the BEST book when faced with such circumstances is the Bible.  And in those weeks and months, I found myself drawn to certain passages of Scripture that encouraged me and built up my faith.

But sometime during the month of July I added this book to my Kindle with the expectation that I would read it through to completion prior to the surgery.  Fortunately that did not happen.

In the two weeks since I have come home from the hospital, I have been able to finish reading it and I have found it a challenging, encouraging and inspiring read … and an especially timely ready in the midst of my circumstances.

The author Jerry Bridges is a speaker and author of the Navigators.  Apparently prior to and in the midst of writing this book He found himself struggling with life trials and tribulations himself … including his wife’s own encounter with cancer.  I believe the personal experiences really added to the teaching power of this book.

This book is absolutely Scripture laden.  And the teaching in the book wraps itself around that Scripture.

Obviously this is simply one man’s opinion … so if you do decide to check out the book, please do your own due diligence before purchasing.

Today I’ll close with a few questions:

  1. Have you read this book by Jerry Bridges? If so, what did you think of it?  Take as much space as you like to share your thoughts and insights
  2. In the midst of personal struggle and suffering, have certain books or passages of the Bible spoken to more than others?
  3. Has there been a book … like Trusting God … that has spoken to you in the midst of trials and tribulations?

Looking forward to what you may have to share … hopeful that the Lord may see fit to use some of the words that have inspired and offered healing to you to do the same for me.

Love IN Christ my friends … love IN Christ!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A timely read … ‘Trusting God’ by Jerry Bridges

  1. Pingback: ‘Hope in the Face of Cancer’ by Amy Givler MD | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

Leave a Reply

