the verse after

Without a doubt one of the most quoted, if not the most quoted, passages of Scripture is John 3:16 …

‘For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes IN Him should not perish but have eternal life.’ (ESV)

Unfortunately, as Christians, we often use that as a license to judge and condemn those in the world who ‘currently’ do not believe IN Christ Jesus and are perishing.

While Christ would draw men and women and children unto Himself through our lives, deeds and words … more often than not, unless they are the targets of our evangelistic outreach, we are pushing away the very people Jesus came to save.

When we expect a man apart from Christ to live according to Christ, we fail to remember that apart from Christ a man can do nothing … repeat … nothing (John 15:5).

Which brings me to ‘the verse after’ John 3:16 …

‘For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him.’ (ESV)

We (and perhaps to be a bit more specific ‘I’) would be wise to remember the work of Christ on the cross was done while we were still unreconciled enemies of God and it is only because of the truth found in both John 3:16 and 17 that today we find ourselves in the midst of the Lord’s salvation.

Sounds like good news worth sharing … not hoarding.

Thank you Jesus!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

