The God without circumference

Ran across this insightful quote on twitter today …

‘God’s center is everywhere, His circumference nowhere.’ 
-Thomas Watson

Can I challenge you to take a minute to think about that?

Do you grasp its meaning?

Reading a few definitions of the word ‘circumference’ might help:

  • The size of something as given by the distance around it
  • The boundary line encompassing an area or object
  • The length of the closed curve of a circle

So since God is without circumference, God is unlimited in size, God is without borders and boundaries, and God is not enclosed by any limitations.

That’s the truth … that is the reality of God!

Now … that’s not to say that man does not attempt to box God in.  In fact, that is frequently one of our favorite pastimes … limiting God.

But understand we don’t limit God … we limit ourselves and our relationship and life with and IN God … with and IN Christ Jesus.

We may decide, ‘God really needs to be a priority in my life’.

Or maybe we subscribe to the pie chart theory and say ‘God really needs to be a greater percentage of my life.’

All those things say … I am god and He is not.

One of the greatest challenges for men is to realize, as Paul wrote in Colossians 3:11:

‘Christ is ALL, and IN ALL.’

ALL … without limit … without circumference … the center … ALL encompassing!

Our goal is not to see how we can make Jesus fit in our lives …

Our goal is to realize that we are called to fit IN the life of Christ Jesus!

Let’s close by considering these words of Paul found in the first chapter of Colossians.  Pay close attention to the use of the word ‘all’.

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of ALL creation. For by him ALL things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—ALL things were created through him and for him. And he is before ALL things, and IN him ALL things hold together. And he is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in everything he might be preeminent. For IN him ALL the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself ALL things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross.

Abide IN the Center without circumference …

Abide IN Christ Jesus my friends!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The God without circumference

  1. Pingback: I Am Your All In All « Notes From Dawn

  2. bwebbjr says:

    Reblogged this on Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things and commented:

    A post from July 2011 that I know I need to revisit and meditate upon … enjoy!

Leave a Reply

