Teachable Moments

Have you ever picked up your Bible and read a passage of Scripture … or read the current day in a daily devotional … or maybe prepared for a small group lesson … or possibly read a passage or chapter in a book … or listened to a sermon or message … etc … and thought …

‘Wow! Based on what I’m going through right now that was exactly what I needed to hear (or read). I don’t know how God does that.’

Me neither …

Then you stop and think about all the people in the world who are at that very moment experiencing a similar ‘Wow!’ teachable moment with God and … well, it simply blows your mind. It is beyond the capacity of the human mind to comprehend such.

Such a conclusion as above reveals a belief about the nature of God as being reactive to the trials and tribulations in our lives.

Such a conclusion suggests that:

God reacts to man.

But I truly believe that.

Man responds to God.

And that response is at God’s prompting through the conviction and teaching of the Holy Spirit.

Now put on a different set of glasses to evaluate that ‘Wow!’ teachable moment.

Like a divine conductor, God has orchestrated all the moments of our lives, all the people we have encountered, all the circumstances of our lives, known our every response and action before they ever occurred, and that teachable moment is but the final note of a song … one of many songs on a lifelong album.

WOW!!!!

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

