Believing IN Christ Jesus

Just getting started here on wordpress.com.  For the last seven plus years I have been blogging on Xanga at http://bwebbjr.xanga.com/ .  I am excited about getting a fresh start with a new blog here.

So often when we think of the word ‘believe’ we tend to think of matters of the mind … a mental agreement about something or someone.  And certainly that is a valid definition.

Without faith it is impossible to please God … but the word ‘faith’ is a noun.  What is the action verb for faith?  From what I see in Scripture, quite frequently the action verbs used for faith are trusting, believe and believing.  More than simply a mental ascent, believing also means living your life based on your faith IN Christ Jesus.

I once heard the author Martha Kilpatrick ask the question, ‘What is the biggest word in the New Testatment?’ The answer … the word ‘IN’.  For example, ‘Abide IN me and I IN you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide IN Me.  I am the vine; you are the branches.  Whoever abides IN Me and I in Him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.’ John 15:4-5 (ESV)

So wherever you see me use the word ‘IN’ in this context … expect to see it capitalized.  IN Christ Jesus is an important aspect of our faith to understand.

Welcome to the new blog and may you have a blessed day IN the Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Believing IN Christ Jesus

  1. Lance Ponder says:

    Bernie, I am so stoked that you’re here on WP now. I’ve pretty much given up on Xanga. WP seems to be much better in many ways. I post here daily (pre-load queu ~_*). At the moment I am alternating between the James book, Minor prophets, and Good News (challenge chapter) entries with a few odd things here and there for flavor. I look forward to seeing what you put here. It can be a little more challenging to establish readership here, though.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the welcome Lance … looking forward to writing some thoughts again longer than 140 characters. Don’t see this being daily like it once was on Xanga but am hopeful for once or twice a week. I added your blog to my blogroll so hopefully over time that will head a few folks your way. Be blessed IN Christ Jesus brother! Bernie

  2. frank says:

    Wishing you the very best here with your fresh start.

    frank

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Frank – I really appreciate you taking the time to stop by and offer encouragement for the fresh start.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

  3. Albert Notter says:

    Okay Bernie, I will try to remember to look for you here. I’m on Facebook under my full name, as well as pb49r at the Xanga site.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment Albert. I will continue to follow you on Xanga but to date have resisted the urge to get on Facebook.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

  4. Pingback: Writing helps me work things out | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

  5. Pingback: Writing helps me work things out | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

  6. bwebbjr says:

    Reblogged this on Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things and commented:

    And this is how the WordPress blog began in July of 2011 …

Leave a Reply

