a psalm of thanksgiving unto the LORD

(note: this cornucopia picture has been one of my favorites for a number of years and serves as one of my seasonal desktop backgrounds on my work laptop.)

ThanksgivingPsalm 100

Shout joyfully to the LORD, all the earth.
Serve the LORD with gladness;
Come before Him with joyful singing.
Know that the LORD Himself is God;
It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.
Enter His gates with thanksgiving
And His courts with praise.
Give thanks to Him, bless His name.
For the LORD is good;
His lovingkindness is everlasting
And His faithfulness to all generations.
(NASB)

Yes, on this Thanksgiving holiday we do indeed need to take a few moments to meditate upon all the blessings we have to be thankful for … but more important than what we have to be thankful for is Who we have to give thanks unto for all our many blessings.

Give thanks unto the Lord and bless His holy name!

May you and yours truly have a happy day of remembrance and thanksgiving for all your many blessings …

Bernie

About Bernie Webb

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a psalm of thanksgiving unto the LORD

  1. Carrie says:

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving!!

  2. Dickbowley says:

    Thankful for you and your ministry Bernie! 3 John 2

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank you Dick … a great and appropriate Scripture reference I would like to share with others who come this way, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” I am indeed experiencing blessings in all these areas … God is so good! The POP book sits at my bedside and how you, your wife, your family and your friends together journeyed thru your initial battle through prayer, friend and family connections, exercise (those walks around the Emory campus), hope and your Lord serves as a constant reminder and inspiration to my wife and me … may you and all your loved ones enjoy the incredible gift of thanksgiving the Lord has given you!

      Be blessed IN the love of Christ Jesus brother!

      Bernie

  3. wow, what a picture. very brilliant sky.

Leave a Reply

