it is really ALL about Jesus …

The title of tonight’s family devotional was ‘The Gift of Jesus the Messiah’.  As I read the first sentence I realized that without considerable conversation everything I just read went right over my 11 year old grandson’s head … consider …

“The Son of God, eternal throughout time, infinite in every way, entered the confines of a twenty-four-hour day and the finiteness of a human body in order to dwell among us.”

Pretty deep for an 11 year-old but my wife and I worked through it with him … then we closed with a reading of Colossians 1:15-18.

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers.  All things were created through Him and for Him.  He is before all things, and in Him all things consist.  And He is the head of the body, the church; who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things He may have the preeminence.

I felt an overwhelming conviction to read it again but with a few significant and defining revisions in word and emphasis …

Jesus is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over ALL creation. For by Jesus ALL things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers.  ALL things were created through Jesus and for Jesus.  Jesus is before ALL things, and IN JESUS ALL things consist.  And Jesus is the head of the body, the church; Jesus is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things Jesus may have the preeminence.

It is really ALL about Jesus!

Bernie

About Bernie Webb

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it is really ALL about Jesus …

  1. I love the statement by J Vernon McGee, that it’s our job to put the cookies down on the bottom shelf so the kiddies can get to them.

  2. judikruis says:

    I wasn’t brought up with Jesus but started my journey when I was in my 30′s. The church had a children’s sermon…that was all I understood at that time. Thankful for the heavenly hunger He gives us for His Word. Giving praise for your sensitivity and joy in sharing Jesus Bernie.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Praise God for bringing you into the fold Judi … so thankful for the Holy Spirit that draws us into the Word of God and then brings us understanding and a conviction to then share it with others … our Triune God truly is amazing in all He has done, is doing and will do!

Leave a Reply

