Jack O’lantern mushrooms … a photoblog

This past weekend my grandson and I visited my folks in the mountains of western North Carolina.  The first evening there we took a walk through the woods down to their pond.  Even in the twilight we spotted these mushrooms from about 20 yards away …

IMG_6966

My 11 year-old grandson and budding mycologist proudly declared them to be Jack O’lantern mushrooms …

IMG_6969

Further research via Google provided the following details:

Omphalotus illudens, the toxic Jack O’lantern mushroom of northeastern North America, is also known as Omphalotus olearius.  Sometimes mistaken for the prized, edible and nutritious chanterelle; eating a Jack O’lantern mushroom is a common cause of mushroom poisoning.  It is often but not fully reliably bioluminescent, producing a sometimes impressive green glow sufficient to clearly see the gills.

So you can probably guess the next step of our nature experiment … once it got dark that evening we ventured back out to check the bioluminescence …

IMG_6967

Unfortunately, either we did not wait for it to get dark enough (probable), the mushrooms were past that point in their life cycle where they glowed (also possible), or finally they were not getting enough sunlight during the day.  BOTTOM LINE: no green glow!

Oh, the wonder and glory of God’s creation!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in origins aka evolution vs. creationsim, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack O’lantern mushrooms … a photoblog

  1. Cool Bernie! Thanks for sharing. I quickly scrolled to the end just to see if there were green glowing pictures … but the anticipation and my imagination were an exciting treat!

    • bwebbjr says:

      You are welcome Richard … as you may imagine my grandson and I had great anticipation that we would find them glowing. Nevertheless, it was a great encounter with God’s creation for both of us. May God bless you and yours brother! Bernie

Leave a Reply

