Learning to sleep with a portable infusion pump

There are all kinds of cancer … too many to name here.  Each one is treated with difference combinations of chemotherapy drugs and on different time cycles.  Some chemotherapy drugs are administered in their entirety at the oncologist office in their infusion suite once a week, every other week, etc.

With colon cancer, I typically make the trek to the oncologist office every two weeks on Wednesday – in office they administer the pre-meds, avastin, give me a syringe push of 5FU and then hook me up to a portable infusion pump that will slowly administer the 5FU at home for the next 46 hours … and then I return on Friday to have it and all the tubing disconnected from my port-catheter.

They put the infusion pump in a hip bag (or a hippie) so you can wear it as you go about your business.  The challenge though is how to sleep with that portable infusion pump.  For the first 14 treatments I wore it as a hippie with the pump positioned on my stomach.  Since I sleep on my sides or back that seemed like a pretty good solution … but resulted in very few good nights of sleep and a few mornings with a sore back from the pull of the hippie belt on my back.

But last night I may have had a breakthrough … a duh moment so to speak.  The portable infusion pump comes with about 4 feet of tubing between you and the pump so I thought “Why not use my bedpost as an IV pole and hang the infusion pump over it?”

And I did … and I was comfortable all night and slept so much better.

Thank you Lord for these little breakthroughs!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

