The peace of God will guard your heart …

Typically when the Bible talks about peace, it is talking about it from one of two perspectives … an outer peace or an inner peace.  For the sake of this post, let’s focus on inner peace.

Scripture passages addressing inner peace are typically describing the absence of mental stress, anxiety and worry in the heart of the individual believer.  Such a peace is simply one aspect of the fruit of the Spirit described in Galatians 5:22-23.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

While we’re talking about peace, let’s also consider this passage …

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at ALL times in every way. The Lord be with you all. 2 Thessalonians 3:16 (ESV)

The word ALL in scripture can be such an incredible challenge or in turn such an incredible blessing.  In this last verse, no doubt it is such an incredible blessing from the Lord of peace Himself.  Thank you Lord!

When I first found out coming out of the fog of anesthesia after surgery that the surgeon had to do a colostomy instead of a colectomy, I felt no anxiety … only peace.   Five days later when the doctor came in with the results of the pathology reports on the mass he removed and said ‘It’s cancer’ I felt no anxiety … only peace.

Wednesday morning (yesterday) when my oncologist called to say the lung nodule biopsy was cancerous I felt no anxiety … only peace.  When later he explained that confirmed that I indeed have Stage 4 cancer I felt no anxiety … only peace.

Can I be honest with you? That’s just not a natural response … that’s just not my typical response.  That’s not me.

Some might try to attribute such a response to one’s faith … but please remember Jesus is the author and perfector of faith … on my best day all I can hope for is to be mold-able clay in His hands.

I believe this passage of scripture, despite my failures on so many of the seeming prerequisites (esp. rejoicing and thanksgiving), best explains the peace I am experiencing …

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:4-7 (ESV)

In considering this passage of Scripture I am simply overwhelmed to tears as I stop and consider that in what for all intents and purpose should far and away be the greatest moments of anxiety and worry of my lifetime are instead moments filled with peace …

Wow!

In these anxiety inducing moments the Lord God Almighty is instead choosing to guard my heart and my mind with His peace … thank you Lord!!!

Surpasses ALL understanding indeed …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The peace of God will guard your heart …

  1. Paul Dawn says:

    Indeed Bernie,

    Every time I read your post’s of late, it is if you looked over my shoulder and read what I wrote, or rather what the Lord wrote through me.

    The peace and the rest that I had through this journey, was there from the get go! I knew in the inner most part of my being, that the Lord was there, with me, letting me know, that He was walking me though this!

    Yes there were days, that I really had to hang on, but none the less, the rest, the peace and the comfort where there.

    Like you, it was a supernatural peace, and like you, all I can say is WOW!

    Bernie, thank you for being real in writing, in the things that you post! Know that there are many that will read this, and it will touch them, even as it touches me and reminds me that their others that have or are traveling this path, who will know that this peace that they have indeed is from our Father!

    Blessings and prayers my friend,

    Paul

    • bwebbjr says:

      The love and provision of our God is truly amazing Paul. To realize what I am experiencing in the moment is so comforting … to realize that others who have walked this path before me have experienced the same is both confirming and reassuring. Thanks for chiming in and sharing what you experienced in your journey Paul … and please, please add links to your writings regarding your journey as so led for the enlightenment and encouragement of others now walking a similar journey.

      Paul, may you continue to be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His truly amazing love!!!

      Bernie

  2. Anne Kirkland says:

    Bernie, I felt led to read your blog last week, and learned of the recent events with your health. I have shed tears, and I have prayed for you and your family, asking God to give you peace. From what you have written today, I see that He has provided that for you in great measure.

    Having known you for 24 years (can you believe it?), I have been able to witness your ever-deepening relationship with Christ. It is the greatness of your life and will carry you through the worst of storms. Thank you for your willingness to openly share your life with others on your blog. I know God is using it to touch the hearts of countless souls.

    I will continue to pray for you, and will share your story with others as God leads me to. You continue to be such a blessing to me.

    Anne K.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Anne –

      It is so good to hear from you. Glad you checked in on the blog … I imagine you are referring to the former blog at Xanga.

      Thanks Anne for your love, your care, your prayers and especially your tears. God is answering your prayers and the prayers of so many others on our behalf. He is faithful, He is trustworthy, and He is carrying us in the midst of this trial.

      24 years … WOW! Interestingly enough, apart from family, my longest friendships … some in excess of 30 years (Stacy, Steve, Joe, etc.) began at work and have endured even when the work relationship has drawn to an end. Hard to believe that at one time I thought the grass was greener elsewhere … that darn septic tank. Your friendship continues to be a blessing beloved sister … hope all is well for you and Kenny!

      The ever-present and ever-increasing work of Christ Jesus within me has been an incredible blessing to me thru the years … and oftentimes the man in the mirror is not as aware of those changes as those around him. Christ Jesus is indeed carrying me thru this storm and His presence is so powerful and all consuming that all I see is peaceful and calm waters around me … I am so incredibly thankful!!!

      And yet in the midst of all this, the story is not about me … it is indeed all about Jesus. And it is all about His mercy, His grace, His incredibly amazing love and His glory. My hope is that in the midst of this journey what people see is not so much a faith filled man but instead a Christ filled man lovingly being cared for by His Savior.

      Thanks Anne for your friendship, your love, your kind and encouraging words, your prayers and especially your tears (Psalm 56:8) … all are treasures!

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His love!!!

      Bernie

  3. Stretch Dean says:

    Bernie…

    I just googled “Peace of God will guard your heart” and your post was the first thing to pop up…and I’m SO GLAD I read it!

    I agree w/ everything you shared…and it’s SO GOOD to know that there are other believers out there really living out the Word of God. Not being anxious about anything…but allowing the Peace of God to guard your heart!

    I’m pleased to be serving our God and living out His Word alongside you.

    ~Stretch~

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Stretch –

      So nice to meet you … simply amazing that this post would be the first entry for the “Peace of God will guard your heart” in Google … simply amazing. Thanks for then taking the time to read this post and then offer this comment of appreciation. I am so thankful for your agreement. Yes, there are brothers and sisters IN Christ who continue to live out the Word of God serving Him and serving other.

      I find encouragement in your words Stretch … thanks for your comment!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

